Limited Liability Company (Professional Service) Articles of Organization (DOS-1374-f)This document is required to form a professional service limited liability company.
STEPS IN FILING ARTICLES OF ORGANIZATION:
A professional service limited liability company is formed by filing Articles of Organization pursuant to Section 1203 of the NYS Limited Liability Company Law. The NYS Department of State has a form available on their website. You may also draft your own form pursuant to Section 1203 of the NYS Limited Liability Company Law, or purchase forms in a legal stationery store in New York.
Submit a certificate of good standing from the appropriate Appellate Division or a Certificate of Authority (Form PLS709) under seal from the NYS Department of Education, Division of Professional Licensing Services, Corporations Unit, 89 Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor, Albany, NY 12234.
Availability of Name: (optional) In order to assure that the proposed name of the professional service limited liability company is not already in use by an existing corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership, you may request a name search. The request must be in writing to the Department of State. The search fee for each name submitted is $5.00.
Reservation of Name: (optional) If the name is available, you may wish to reserve it while finalizing your business plans. To reserve the name for 60 days, file an “Application for Reservation of Name.” The Department of State will send you a Certificate of Reservation. Attach this Certificate of Reservation to your Articles of Organization when filing. The fee for reservation of name is $20.
RequirementsA Certificate of Good Standing or Certificate of Authority, Always Required
How to Apply
WHAT YOU NEED TO APPLY:• Appropriate certificates from the licensing authority for all individuals
• Fees ($200)
|NAME||FORM NUMBER||FORM AND INSTRUCTIONS AVAILABLE|
|Articles of Organization||DOS-1374-f||DOS-1374-f|
|Articles of Organization||No||$200|
|Certificate of Publication||No||$50|
|Availability of Name||No||$5|
|Reservation of name||No||$20|
|Expedited Handling Fee||No||$25.00 - $150.00|
Payment Options:Fee payments include: personal checks made payable to the NYS Department of State, postal money orders, and credit cards (MasterCard, Visa and American Express).
Duration & Processing
|Average Processing Time:||7 Business Days|
Expedited Handling Services: (optional) The NYS Department of State's Division of Corporations offers expedited processing of time-sensitive documents. For an additional fee DOS will ensure a filing is processed within the following time frames: $25.00 per document within 24 hours, $75.00 per document within the same day, or $150.00 per document within 2 hours. Expedited handling fees must be paid by a separate check to the NYS Department of State and is nonrefundable. Please note on the envelope and cover letter "Attention: Expedited Handling."
Additional Info1. Limited liability companies formed in New York must, within 120 days after filing of the articles of organization with the NYS Department of State, publish a notice in two newspapers in the county where the office of the limited liability company is located once a week for six consecutive weeks. The county clerk of such county designates the newspapers for publication. One newspaper must be printed daily and the other printed weekly. Proof of publication (Certificate of Publication with the Affidavits of Publication of the newspapers) must be submitted to the NYS Department of State for filing. The filing fee is $50. Failure to comply with the publication requirement will result in the suspension of the limited liability company’s authority to carry on, conduct or transact business in New York. For detailed information on the newspaper publication requirements review the provisions of Section 1203 of the Limited Liability Company Law.
2. Limited liability companies are required to file a Biennial Statement every two years with the NYS Department of State. Online filing is available on the Department of State’s website. The filing fee is $9. Entities who wish to receive a notice when the Biennial Statement is due for filing must provide an email address at the Department of State’s Email Address Submission/Update Service.
3. Limited liability companies are required by statute to conduct business under their true legal or “real” name. If a limited liability company wishes to conduct business under a name other than its true legal name, a Certificate of Assumed Name must be filed with the NYS Department of State. The filing fee for a Certificate of Assumed Name is $25.