Religious CorporationThis certificate is required to establish a religious corporation.
For tax exemption information, contact the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance, Corporation Tax Bureau, W.A. Harriman State Campus, Albany, NY 12227, (518) 485-2889 and the United States Internal Revenue Service at (877) 829-5500.
How to Apply
|Assumed Name||No||$25||$25 per county. For NYC counties the fee is $100 per county. The total fee for a corporation to file a Certificate of Assumed Name in all counties in New York State, including the NYS Department of State's fee, is $1,950.|
Payment Options:Fee payments for certificates of incorporation filed with the Department of State include: personal checks made payable to the NYS Department of State, postal money orders, and credit cards (MasterCard, Visa and American Express).
Duration & Processing
|Average Processing Time:||7 Business Days|
Processing information for county clerks’ offices may be obtained by contacting the appropriate county clerk’s office.
Additional Info1. Contact the County Clerk's office in the county where the corporation has its principal office or place of worship. Website: http://www.nysegov.com/map-NY.cfm
2. Documents submitted to the Department of State must be enclosed in a white cover sheet that sets forth the title of the document being submitted and the name and address of the individual to whom the receipt for the filing of the document should be mailed.
3. Corporations are required by statute to conduct activities under their true legal or “real” name. If a corporation wishes to conduct activities under a name other than its true legal name, a certificate of assumed name must be filed with the NYS Department of State. The filing fee for a Certificate of Assumed Name is $25. Additionally, the NYS Department of State collects county clerk fees for each county in which the corporation does/transacts business. For each county outside of New York City the fee is $25. For the five counties within New York City (Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond), the fee is $100. The total fee for a corporation to file a certificate of assumed name in all counties in New York State, including the NYS Department of State's fee, is $1,950.